Back to
Columns Magazine

One committee and four individuals were honored at the Oct. 16 MAP Bridging the Gap Breakfast. The Samuel E. Kelly Award went to the 25 members of the House of Knowledge Advisory Committee. Distinguished Alumnus Awards were presented to Richard A. Jones, ’75, a U.S. District Court judge; Patricia E. Loera, ’93, senior program officer for education with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; and Cynthia Kan Rekdal, ’62, ’77, ’82, ’89, founder of the Washington State Association of Multicultural Educators. Jai-Anana Elliott, associate director of diversity and recruitment at the UW Michael G. Foster School of Business, received the 2010 Diversity Award for Community Building.

The 2010 Washington teacher of the year is Jay Maebori, ’94, it was announced in September. A teacher at Kentwood High School in Kent, he is now up for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

The University of Washington was honored with a 2010 Green Washington Award by Seattle Business magazine for its efforts to achieve carbon neutrality.

What Do You Think?

Use the form below to comment on this story. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Personal attacks, insults, profanity, solicitations and spam are prohibited. The UW Alumni Association reserves the right to remove comments. For more information, please read our comment FAQ.