Any member of the university community who needs emergency help or medical assistance may contact police personnel, day or night, by dialing 911.
The non-emergency dispatch number (206.685.UWPD) contacts the 24-hour dispatch center. Non-Emergency TTY: 206.543.3323 (for the hearing-impaired).
The University Police Department is located at 1117 NE Boat Street, on the southwest side of campus. The business office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The business office number is 206.543.0507. If you arrive at the police station after hours, a call box is located outside the main doors to the Bryants building. This call box rings into the 24-hour communications center.
To leave a confidential tip on the UWPD tip-line, call 685.TIPS (8477).
Your tips do make a difference. If you have witnessed a crime, or have information regarding a crime, on-going criminal activity or a wanted person, you may report this to the police using our confidential tip-line. If you do choose to leave your contact information, this will be kept confidential.
Please note that the information you leave may go unchecked for up to 24 hours, so if this is an emergency, call 911.Thank you for your assistance in helping the University of Washington Police Department fight crime. Your partnership with us makes the campus a safer place for all our students, staff, faculty and visitors.
University employees and volunteers are mandatory reporters and must orally report suspected child abuse or neglect by telephone or otherwise at the first opportunity, but no later than 48 hours after suspecting that abuse has taken place.
There are three alternative ways to make such a report:
#1 - Call the University of Washington Police Department (UWPD) at 206.685.UWPD (8973) (TTY accessible) (if the incident is outside of UWPD's jurisdiction, UWPD will report it to the appropriate law enforcement agency); or
#2 - Call the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) at 1.866.ENDHARM (1.866.363.4276) (TTY accessible), which is Washington State's toll-free, 24 hour, 7 day-a-week hotline that will connect you directly to the appropriate local office to report suspected child abuse or neglect; or
#3 - Call the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction in the location of the suspected incident, if other than the UWPD.
What to Report
Information that may be requested when making a report, includes:
1. The name, address, and age of the child; and 2. The name of the person committing the child abuse or neglect.
You will be asked to report only what you may know, and are not expected to do any type of review or investigation prior to reporting.
Please review the policy carefully to understand these reporting obligations. Additional Information can be found on the University's Safety of Minors website, including links to information from DSHS: http://f2.washington.edu/treasury/riskmgmt/compliance/minors
Anyone can make a Citizen Complaint or Commendation.
If you have been in an accident involving any vehicle leased or rented by the University of Washington, you must provide the UWPD with a SF-137 Accident Report Form.
The University Police Department complies with Public Law 108-21, Title II, Sec. 204, more commonly known as "Suzanne's Law." This law amends Section 3701(a) of the Crime Control Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. 5779(a)) to eliminate the waiting period before law enforcement agencies can initiate an investigation of a missing person under the age of 21 and report the missing person to the National Crime Information Center of the Department of Justice.